Steering Committee

The Steering Committee is MiPCT’s main advisory committee, providing recommendations to the Michigan Department of Community Health (MDCH). Members include primary care physicians, physician organizations, health plans, employers, the Michigan Primary Care Consortium and MDCH.


  • Mary Ellen Benzik, MD, Trinity Health
  • Larry Cowsill, DO, McLaren PHO
  • James Forshee, MD, Molina HealthPlan
  • Jerome Frankel, MD, Oakland Southfield Physicians
  • Robert Jarve, MD, Spectrum Health Medical Group
  • Theresa Landfair, MPH, Michigan Department of Community Health**
  • Jean Malouin, MD, MPH, University of Michigan Health System**
  • Margaret Mason, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan
  • Sue Moran, Michigan Department of Community Health**
  • Dennis Smith, Upper Peninsula Health Plan
  • Julia Spalding, Michigan Education Special Services Association
  • Mike Sparkia, CareBridge
  • Kathy Stiffler, Michigan Department of Community Health**
  • Paul Szilagyi, Henry Ford Medical System
  • Kevin Taylor, MD, Integrated Health Associates
  • Jane Turner, MD, MSU Health Team
  • James Twesten-O’Toole, MD, Lakeshore Health Network
  • Burton F. VanderLaan, MD, Priority Health
  • Felicia Williams, MD, Blue Care Network

The Steering Committee Workspace can be found here.